Have you ever heard the words "Be Careful"?

Riding stories. Tell us all about it.
Sandblaster

Have you ever heard the words "Be Careful"?

Post by Sandblaster » Sat Jun 09, 2012 9:12 pm

Oct 10th 2010
Ok, I've been riding dirt bikes for 40+ years.
Over the years the people I have rode with have all stopped riding excluding by Father who still rides his MX bike and can wheelie for miles.
Some of my friends stopped riding because of various injuries and others the ravages of age have taken their toll.
Yet, I still love it and can do it all day long.
It is strange to be sitting around the camp fire after a hard days ride and have the people I'm riding with say things like, “You ride pretty fast for an old guy”.
I usually reply, “Oh, I didn't realize you were racing”.
Sometimes it's even true smiley
Even though my age seems to be double or more of those I ride with I still ride fast but I don't typically do anything hairball.
I try to make up for that by being smoother and choosing my lines more cautiously.
Last year I was heading to Christmas Valley Oregon.
Before I left I was speaking to my Uncle who gave me the BE CAREFUL SPEECH. You know the sand changes and is unpredictable Yada, Yada, Yada, you have to be very careful..... I've heard it all before.....
So after riding for 3 hours to get there I was amped up and ready to ride.
I fired up my k5 and headed across the dunes like I have a million times before.
As I came to the top of one of the larger dunes I noticed that one of my friends was having a tough time going over a little blow off..
In fact, he disappeared going down the back side of it, then re-appeared and he fell over.
I laughed.
Here we had only been there for 5 minutes and one man was down.
I could see that he was alright as he was trying to re-start his flooded H5.
So as I was riding over there I thought to myself “Ok, I'm going to show him how to do this jump”